Interview with CA Assemblyman Todd Gloria

Quotes from Charter Local Edition Interview

People with good jobs can’t afford to live here

“what I’m increasingly hearing from my constituents is that they can have very well-paying jobs and yet they can’t afford to live here”

Let’s streamline, but make sure all the gains don’t flow to developers

“some things that come to mind is to remove certain barriers to construction that correlation areas and increase the overall cost of housing here’s the trick though is it as we remove those barriers and perhaps allow more inventory more inventory means the prices hopefully come down what I want to hear is that if we make some of those efforts which I think we generally should that that is actually reflected in the price and that those dollars dont just flow into developers pockets I’m all about capitalism…by all means but let’s make sure that if we reduce some of the efforts if we streamline certain things to make more product get on the market sooner it hopefully help more working families out that they actually see that reflected in the rent and then for sale prices”

Colleagues up and down the state see that this is a problem

my colleagues up and down the state rural urban coastal or central everyone’s experience in this problem so that says to me that there’s opportunity and yes I we have heard the concerns from the League of California cities and others about whether or not the state should have a role in this but here’s the thing if they don’t act someone must because this in action means that more families are struggling to make ends meet and while I’m always been concerned about the low-income community of families in our communities the truth is I’m having middle-class families come to me and say something must be done”

